Solder Station

I’ve been having a lot of difficulty finding a surface to do my soldering trickery in this tiny apartment. I’ve been using the stove to do the majority of the work because I can use the hood as a fume extractor and the light works well. On the other hand, the surface is complete shit and all the tiny components drop straight down into the nethers of my stove. I needed something that would allow a work surface, solder holder, 3(6th, 9th) hand and some other functions that I need for specific nerdy reasons (style, cleanliness, tweezer holders, etc). So behold, my solder station:

zong

With some simple parts I made custom, durable feet to hold this thing in place.

nothing

The spacing allows for tool storage when I’m not using it and grips the copper alligator clip holder do-hickeys with magiks.

I also made a set of smaller peg boards incase I need a desk sized version.

Ideas for next revision: new alligator arm design, rubber mat (with holes?), posable micro snake lights, micro vise, lasers.

  1. Simple, effective and functional – really cool! I will definitely build one of these when I get a chance!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

